By using this site, you agree to its use of cookies as provided in our policy.

Heydon Trust Chapel -- Somerset Island, Sandys Parish BM
Posted by: Groundspeak Premium Member Benchmark Blasterz
N 32° 17.386 W 064° 52.188
20S E 323931 N 3574089
Quick Description: The charming and historic Heydon Trust Chapel was built around 1610 as a farm laborer's cottage. It was converted into a chapel in 1943. It is the smallest church in Bermuda.
Location: Bermuda
Date Posted: 3/5/2015 9:00:11 AM
Waymark Code: WMNFD2
Views: 2

Long Description:
This simple, spare chapel was dedicated in 1943, but the building has been here for 400 years. The building was built by an early Bermuda Governor, Sir John Heydon, as a home for a farm laborer on the estate. Sir John Heydon was not popular when he was alive for trying to impose his Puritan religious beliefs on everyone else, but when he died, he left his estate in the Heydon Trust that has preserved this magnificent and peaceful place for succeeding generations of visitors to enjoy.

From the Bermuda Sandy's parish website: (visit link)

Heydon Bay and area

A small chapel places a spiritual emphasis on this historically significant place. The bay is in the north east portion of Ely's Harbor and was shown on the survey of 1616 by Richard Norwood. The name first came from Jeremy Heydon, an investor in the Bermuda Company of the early 17th century. Sir John Heydon, a relative, became Deputy Governor then Governor of Bermuda from May 15, 1669. He arrived at Castle Harbor aboard the Bermuda Company ship "Summers Isles Merchant." He was an uncompromising Puritan and tried to inflict his puritanical beliefs on other colonists, much to their annoyance.

Although unpopular, he remained in Bermuda after retirement. When 80 years old, he was charged with treason. It was claimed he had allowed Dutch sailors to chart the reefs of Bermuda for a possible invasion by the Dutch and Spanish. Heydon was acquitted and before he died a few years later was charitable enough to apply Christian forgiveness to his neighbors by establishing the Heydon Trust Estate which survives to this day.

It derived from Heydon to Dr. John Dalzell who built his fortune and reputation in Bermuda after being shipwrecked on his way to Nevis in the Caribbean more than 900 miles to the south. All the lands of the trust are still intact, probably the largest surviving single estate in Bermuda today, known as The Heydon Trust Estate. It administers and owns the houses, property and land occupying 43 acres, some of which are still being farmed. Most is rural open space with walking trails, views and swimming. The Heydon Trust Chapel, part of the estate, was dedicated to God in 1943, established as such in 1964 but not actually created until 1970 when the Heydon Trust chapel in Sandys Parish was converted to its present prayerful status, from a modest but picturesque 19th century farm laborer's cottage that appears to have been built much earlier."
Church Name: Heydon Trust Chapel

Church In Use (even only just occassionally): yes

Church NOT in use.: no

Date Church Built: 1610

Rate this church.:

Visit Instructions:
High quality photos only. No low resolution camera phones, please.

Pictures required:
1. Church picture
2. Church sign (schedule sign with Church name on it &/or gate with Church name).
Search for...
Geocaching.com Google Map
Google Maps
MapQuest
Bing Maps
Trails.com Maps
Nearest Waymarks
Nearest Country Churches
Nearest Geocaches
Nearest Benchmarks
Nearest Hotels
Create a scavenger hunt using this waymark as the center point
Recent Visits/Logs:
Date Logged Log User Rating  
Benchmark Blasterz visited Heydon Trust Chapel -- Somerset Island, Sandys Parish BM 2/21/2015 Benchmark Blasterz visited it